• Share

Welcome EY alumni

A message from Trent Henry, Canadian Chairman and CEO

Call me an incurable optimist, but I can’t help believing that the world is on the path to a brighter and more prosperous future. While the economic recovery is decidedly slower than hoped, and austerity and uncertainty remain the order of the day in many parts of the world, the future holds great promise because it belongs to those who think big and take bold, decisive action. And there are plenty of people doing just that every day, in every corner of the world.

I see how companies across Canada are pursuing growth in ways that weren’t feasible just a couple of years ago. I see how private mid-market companies are driving efforts to create much-needed jobs and seek out new opportunities in markets near and far. I see the intense innovation that Canadian entrepreneurs are constantly generating, and I’m inspired by the increasing number of women and younger people who are building and growing new businesses. This year we celebrate the 20th anniversary of the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Awards, and while we’re proud to look back at the lasting legacy of past award winners and finalists, we’re even more excited by the entrepreneurs we’ve yet to discover, celebrate and support.

Our alumni family is also a great source of inspiration to me. The profiles you’ll read about in this issue of Connect showcase three individuals who represent the best in big thinking and bold action. It’s people like Warren Beach, Sarah Davis and Ghislain Parent — and the thousands of other members of our alumni community — who are leading the way to the bright future that’s just around the corner.

I’ve had the pleasure of seeing many of our alumni at reunions this past year, and I look forward to connecting with many more of you in the year ahead. In the meantime, I hope you’ll stay in touch with us and with each other, continue to seize opportunity and look toward the bright future we’re all helping to build.

Trent Henry

Trent Henry
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer