EY - India Tax Webcast series

India Tax Webcast series

  • Share

At EY, we regularly conduct the audio and video webcasts on most topical issues, updating you on the changing tax and regulatory norms, their possible implications on your business and opportunities to be leveraged.

Subscribe to our regular tax alerts and webcasts!


Upcoming webcasts


Watch this space for upcoming webcasts

Is there a Permanent Establishment (PE)? - Recent trends in taxation of PEs in India

Audio Webcast | Duration: 90 minutes
5 August 2014 at 4:00 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. (IST)

India - 4:00 p.m.(IST), Singapore - 6:30 p.m.(SGT), London - 11:30 a.m.(BST), New York - 6:30 a.m.(EDT)

Register

Existence of PE has emerged as a contentious international tax issue for multinational enterprises doing business in India. The question "Is there a PE?" is probably the most frequent tax treaty issue that Courts have to deal with. Even though the concept has existed in tax treaties for several decades, globalization of international trade and development of the digital economy, has made the application of the concept a vexed issue. A spate of recent rulings by Courts in India point to a trend towards increasing the number of situations in which PE would be found to arise, and at the same time providing clarity on situations where a PE does not arise.

Watch LIVE audio webcast, where Rajendra Nayak, Partner - International Tax Services, EY India, will discuss recent trends in taxation of PE in India in light of recent case laws and implications on business arrangements commonly used by multinational enterprises for establishing operations in India.

Click here to register for the webcast session


Panelists/ Presenters:

EY - Rajendra Nayak

Rajendra Nayak

Partner, International Tax Services and Tax
Knowledge & Solutions Group

Rajendra Nayak is a Partner with the Knowledge & Solutions Group. He is a Member of ICAI and holds a Masters degree in International Taxation from the Regent University School of Law, USA. His speciality areas are cross border structuring and transfer pricing.

Rajen has been rated by Euromoney's International Tax Review Magazine among the 'Top Tax Dispute Resolution Lawyers and Advisors in India’ for the years 2012 and 2013.

A noted international tax thought leader, Rajen has over 16 years of experience in tax consulting. He has considerable experience in advising companies on cross-border transactions, transfer pricing planning, documentation & controversy management and assisting companies in international tax planning. He has worked with a number of leading Indian and multi-national companies in the information technology and manufacturing sector.

Rajen is a regular speaker at conferences and has contributed several articles on international taxation. He is the co-author of the Indian chapter of IBFD’s book on Transfer Pricing Controversy and Dispute Resolution.