President and CEO of AboitizPower is Entrepreneur Of The Year 2011

  • Share


Mr. Erramon I. Aboitiz, President and CEO of AboitizPower Corporation, was proclaimed Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2011 in the recent Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2011 awards banquet. In photo with Mr. Aboitiz (center) are (from left) SGV & Co. Chairman and Managing Partner Vic Noel, Chairman and President of La Frutera, Inc. and Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2006 Senen C. Bacani, Founder of National Bookstore and Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2004 Socorro Ramos, Chairman and President of Planters Development Bank and Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2009 Ambassador Jesus P. Tambunting, President of Bounty Fresh Food Inc. and Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2010 Tennyson G. Chen and Chair of the Entrepreneur Of The Year Judging Panel Mr. Cesar E.A. Virata.  Mr. Aboitiz was recognized for his exemplary vision, leadership and financial expertise, which allowed him to transform AboitizPower from a regional power distributor into a dynamic power generator and distributor operating nationwide.  Guided by his vision of providing stable, affordable and environment-friendly energy through the country, Aboitiz Power has acquired a diverse range of power assets, allowing it to tailor-fit offerings to the needs of Filipino consumers while promoting the use of clean and renewable energy.

Mr. Aboitiz also received the category award for Master Entrepreneur 2011 and is recognized for applying sound management practices in critical areas of the company including finance, marketing, human resources and sales. 


The Entrepreneur Of The Year was founded in the United States by professional services firm EY in 1986 to recognize the achievements of the most successful and innovative entrepreneurs worldwide.  In 2001, EY expanded the program and launched the World Entrepreneur Of The Year awards.  In the Philippines, the SGV Foundation, Inc. established the Entrepreneur Of The Year in 2003. Supporting the program as co-presenters are, De La Salle University, Department of Trade and Industry, Development Bank of the Philippines, Philippine Business for Social Progress, Philippine Stock Exchange, and the Schwab Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship.


Program sponsor is SAP Philippines. Official airline is KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, operating on behalf of the Air France-KLM Group in the Philippines. Media sponsors are BusinessWorld and the ABS-CBN News Channel.  Banquet sponsors are Alaska Milk Corporation, Bounty Fresh Food Inc., CDO Foodsphere, Fiori Di M Food and Floralscapes, Generika Drugstore, JG Summit Holdings, Inc., National Bookstore, Planters Development Bank, and Victorinox Travel Gear.