• Share

2014 judging panel

The success of the program relies on the efforts of our independent panel of judges. These past EY Entrepreneur Of The Year™ Award winners and civic and community leaders devote significant effort to review and deliberate the merits of each nominee. We deeply appreciate their dedication to this process.

Central Midwest judge David Brain David Brain
David Brain is the President and CEO as well as a Board Member/Trustee of EPR Properties, an NYSE traded real estate investment trust. He co-founded the company in 1997 and served as its original CFO. He was a recipient of the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2011 Master Award in the Central Midwest Region.
Midwest Judge Glenn Lyon John Brandmeyer
John Brandmeyer is CEO of Cognios Capital. Prior to leading Cognios, John held various senior level positions at Enturia, an industry leader in medical products. He was instrumental in building Enturia’s innovative industry leadership and formulating the negotiations that resulted in the divestiture of Enturia to Cardinal Health.
Joe Burgess Joe Burgess
Joe Burgess is the President and CEO of Aegion Corporation and the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2013 Industrial Products award winner. Prior to Aegion Corporation, he served as the President and CEO of Insituform Technologies and CEO of Veolia Water North America. He is involved in a number of community organizations and serves on the board of the Energy Policy Sub-Committee on the United States Department of Commerce's Manufacturing Council.
CM_MaxineClark_100x100 Maxine Clark
Maxine Clark founded Build-A-Bear Workshop® in 1997 and served as CEO from 1997 to 2013. In addition to her seat on the Build-A-Bear Workshop Board, Maxine is a member of the Board of Directors of Footlocker, Inc., serves on the national Board of Trustees of Teach For America and is on the National Board of Donorschoose.org, to name a few. She was the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 1999 Central Midwest Emerging Entrepreneur Award winner and was named an EY Entrepreneur Of The Year national finalist in 2004.
Harry Herington Harry Herington
Harry Herington is CEO and Chairman of the Board of NIC Inc. and the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2012 Technology Award winner. NIC, the country's dominant provider of e-government online solutions, debuted at No. 20 on Forbes' list of the 25 Fastest‑Growing Companies in America.
Hillman Tom Hillman 
Tom Hillman is Managing Partner at FTL Capital, LLC, where he takes an active leadership role with each of its current portfolio companies. Tom has been involved with private business enterprises over the course of his career, during which time he’s owned more than 30 companies in a wide variety of industries.
Central Midwest Judge: Schulte Dave Schulte 
Dave Schulte is co-founder and a Managing Director of Tortoise Capital Advisors, LLC and its affiliate, Corridor InfraTrust Management, LLC. Tortoise was formed in 2002 to provide investors with a simple strategy to invest in master limited partnerships (MLPs). Dave, along with his co-founders, is an EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2011 Financial Services Award winner.
CM_DaveSpence_100x100 Dave Spence 
Dave Spence is the CEO and majority owner of Legacy Pharmaceutical Packaging and a board member at Alpha Packaging, He won the Fast Track Award from Missouri Chamber of Commerce in 2010 for Alpha Packaging as well as the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 1999 Manufacturing Consumer Awards Award for Alpha Plastics, Inc.