World Entrepreneur Awards

  • Share

We believe entrepreneurs are the lifeblood of our economy.  

Africa is tipped for significant growth; in order to achieve this potential the continent needs entrepreneurs who build large organisations with integrity, add value in their markets, develop skills on a large scale and create sustainable jobs.

As a leader in guiding these entrepreneurs and their companies, we feel it’s important to honour them and recognise their impact, while encouraging others to follow in their footsteps.

Programme overview:

The programme was launched in Africa in 1998 and since it has been adding significant value to those entrepreneurs who participate through encouraging entrepreneurial action among those individuals with potential. The programme recognises the contirbution of those who motivate others with their vision, leadership and accomplishment.

Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Mozambique, Malawi, Mauritius, Madagascar, South Africa, Zimbabwe and Zambia

We distinguish and credit entrepreneurs according to four categories, namely: Lifetime, Master, Exceptional and Emerging. As you read through the information on the various categories you can decide which would be the best category for you to participate in.

  1. Lifetime: celebrates senior business leaders who have served as an entrepreneurial icon for several decades, leaving an enduring legacy.
  2. Master: honours individuals whose achievements have made them world-class entreprenuers.
  3. Exceptional*: recognises individuals who have shown exceptional tenacity and determination in building a successful and established enterprise.
  4. Emerging*: credits those individuals building young businesses with high potential.

*The minimum revenue threshold for participants is USD6m. The selection committee will assign nominees to the relevant category in an appropriate comparable manner.

We recognise the passion and the drive behind entrepreneurial businesses, whether private, listed, family-owned or private equity-backed, across all commercial and industrial sectors.

More than one person can be nominated per company, for example, in the case of joint founders or family owned businesses. In such an instance, they would participate as one team.

Entrepreneurs eligable for consideration include:

Circle diagram