Diverse field in 2011 EY
Entrepreneur Of The Year Awards

  • Share

Tuesday, 24 May 2011 — A select group of 79 of this country’s top entrepreneurs are in the running to be named this year’s Australian EY Entrepreneur Of The Year.

The 2011 nominee field includes entrepreneurs from fields as diverse as shoes, beer brewing, emergency international security, pet products, gas exploration and development, and medical supplies.

EY Entrepreneur Of The Year is considered the world’s most prestigious business award, run in more than 50 countries around the world.

Nominees will first vie for regional award honours, then in November these regional winners will compete for the national title.

The 2011 Australian winner will travel to Monte Carlo in 2012 to join an elite list of the very best entrepreneurs from around the globe to contend for the title of EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year.

Previous Australian winners include the entrepreneurial brains behind businesses such as Atlassian, Carsales.com, and Res Med, while past World Entrepreneur Of The Year winners have included the founders of Amazon and IKEA.

The regional nominees for the 2011 Australian EY Entrepreneur Of The Year are as follows. A biography on each of the nominees is available online at www.eoy.ey.com.au.

Central Region (SA & NT) Regional Awards Final to be held on Thursday, 4 August 2011
Houssam Abiad – Digimob Australia; Felici Expresso Bar, Muscle Group Australia
Angelique Boileau – Boileau Business Solutions
Cara Kirsten – Sound Diagnostic Radiology
Michael Marinos – Nova Concepts Australia
David McMahon – McMahon Services
Kim McNamara – KJM
Anthony Paech – Beerenberg
Dr Leanna Read – TGR BioSciences
Dr Andrew Saies & Dr Greg Keene – Sportsmed.SA
Yasser Shahin – Peregrine Corporation
David Snoad – Pinz
Adam Trippe-Smith – McLaren Vale Beer Company
Listed entrepreneur – Bob Kennedy – Beach Energy Limited
Social entrepreneur – John Shepherd AM, Operation Flinders Foundation
Champion of Entrepreneurship – Rick Allert AO

Eastern Region (NSW & ACT) Regional Awards Final to be held on Thursday 23 June 2011
Matt Barrie – Freelancer.com
David Brown – Trixan
Valerie Duncan – Energy Action
Brendan Green – Hire a Hubby
Nikki Hager – PeepToe
Dr Miles Jakeman – The Citadel Group
David James – Brasserie Bread
Helen Logas – Travelcorp
Anthony Moorhouse – Dynamiq Pty Ltd
Paul Munten – Ocean & Earth International
Dr David Penn – Southern Cross Dental Laboratories
Jeff Phillips – Varley Group
Mark Rutherford – Ilum-a-Lite
Brian Siemsen – Siemsen Group
Naomi Simson – RedBalloon
Listed entrepreneur – Nicholas Curtis, Lynas Corporation Limited
Social entrepreneur – Melinda Cruz, Miracle Babies Foundation

Northern Region (Qld) Regional Awards Final to be held on Thursday 21 July 2011
Tim Bunker – Nursery Traders
Jim Campbell – Murphy Pipe and Civil
Kenton Campbell – Zarraffa’s Franchising Pty Ltd
Randall Deer – RewardsCorp
Bruce Evans – Abacus ALS
Paul Everest & Ian Everest – Unit
Alex Koszo – Vecor
Claes Loberg – Guvera Limited
Don McKenzie – Stream
Robert McVicker – Morris Corporation (Aust) Pty Ltd
Andrew Northcott – LSA Recruitment Group
Kim Parascos – iVolve
David Schramm – Evolution Traffic Control
Ben Shipley – Comscentre
John Sugarman – Australian Maritime Systems
Mike Timoney – Dental Partners
Listed entrepreneur – Peter Bond, Linc Energy
Social entrepreneur – David Barbagallo, Endeavour Foundation
Champion of Entrepreneurship – Mick Power AM, BMD Group

Southern Region (Vic. & Tas.) Regional Awards Final to be held on Thursday 11 August 2011
Darren Alexander – Autech
Joel Bartfeld – Shine Group
George Calombaris – The Press Club Group
Lorenzo Coppa – eStore.com.au
Justin Dowel – Natures Organics
Mark Evans – Dental Corporation
Gillian Franklin – The Heat Group
Matt George – Money Choice
Martin Halphen – The Fruit Box
Professor Silviu Itescu – Mesoblast Limited
Michael Klim – Milk & Co
Gabby Leibovich – Catchoftheday.com.au
Steve Morriss – Close the Loop
Christopher Ride – Interactive
Alan Winney – Emerald Group
Listed entrepreneur – Brian McNamee AO, CSL Limited
Social entrepreneur – Marion Webster OAM & Renata Singer, Fitted for Work
Champion of Entrepreneurship – Lyndsey Cattermole AM

Western Region (WA) Regional Awards Final to be held on Thursday 28 July 2011
Aaron Begley – Matrix Composites & Engineering Ltd
Ky Cao – Perth Energy Pty Ltd
Paul Deuchar – Argon
John Gallop – Mineworks Group Pty Ltd
Gene Kostecki – Alloy Steel International
Michael Lawson – Northerly Group
Brad Pense – RecruitWest
James Rhee – Swan Energy
Rory Vassallo – Vassallo Corporation
Professor Paul Watt – Phylogica Ltd
Listed entrepreneur – Michael Malone, iiNet
Social entrepreneur – Professor Michael Henderson & Professor Bruce Robinson, International Skills & Training Institute in Health
Champion of Entrepreneurship – Andrew Forrest, Fortescue Metals Group


About EY 
EY is a global leader in assurance, tax, transaction and advisory services. Worldwide, our 141,000 people are united by our shared values and an unwavering commitment to quality. We make a difference by helping our people, our clients and our wider communities achieve their potential.

EY refers to the global organisation of member firms of Ernst & Young Global Limited, each of which is a separate legal entity. Ernst & Young Global Limited, a UK company limited by guarantee, does not provide services to clients. For more information on our organisation, please visit www.ey.com.

This news release has been issued by EY Australia, a member firm of Ernst & Young Global Limited.

Liability limited by a scheme approved under Professional Standards Legislation.

Contact details:

Megan Ball 
EY Australia
Tel: + 61 2 8295 6427