The better the question. The better the answer. The better the world works. У вас есть вопрос? У нас есть ответ. Решая сложные задачи бизнеса, мы улучшаем мир. У вас є запитання? У нас є відповідь. Вирішуючи складні завдання бізнесу, ми змінюємо світ на краще. Meilleure la question, meilleure la réponse. Pour un monde meilleur. 問題越好。答案越好。商業世界越美好。 问题越好。答案越好。商业世界越美好。

Will the conditions change you or will you change the conditions?

Thriving on change – a new ecosystem approach can turn today’s challenges into tomorrow’s opportunities

The climate for capital markets institutions remains turbulent. Market participants are moving forward from the financial crisis, and are now governed by broader regulatory regimes and stricter capital requirements. This climate is leading many participants to recalibrate their organizations and business models to fit within an environment defined by regulation, tight margins and low growth.

Technological advances are bringing new competition to the marketplace, disrupting traditional investment banking models and forcing the capital markets ecosystem to evolve.

How can investment banks thrive under these evolving market conditions? Are there opportunities for banks to disrupt the competitive landscape in this new ecosystem?

By considering alternative sourcing models, FinTech adoption strategies and the role of utilities and new technologies, banks can reinvent themselves as more agile, lean and efficient organizations. Tomorrow’s investment banks should focus on five business strategies – reshape to adapt to a new operating environment; grow and optimize to improve performance; and protect and control to reduce risk – integrating innovation and collaboration into their strategic thinking today.

Responding to today’s challenges to build tomorrow’s investment bank

Investment banks’ responses to today’s capital markets challenges were aggregated through EY interviews with 50 executives.

Responding to today’s challenges to build tomorrow’s investment bank

Why EY?

The relationship between traditional investment banks and technology is constantly evolving. Navigating this environment and re-imagining the threats posed by technology as opportunities will ignite tangible change, not just within individual organizations but across the competitive landscape.

Banks’ approach to strategic change, adapting to a new operating environment, improving performance and reducing risk all must be multi-faceted and cohesive to ensure business-led transformation, not just in terms of IT and the processes it supports but also with respect to human capital.

With deep market insight and domain expertise across business, operations and IT, we provide end-to-end transformation to capital markets clients as they journey into the emerging ecosystem.

Contact us to learn more

Global

Bill Schlich
Global Banking & Capital Markets Leader
Toronto
bill.schlich@ca.ey.com
+1 416 943 4554
Dai Bedford
EY Global Banking & Capital Markets Advisory Leader
London
dbedford@uk.ey.com
+1 212 773 8273
Jan Bellens
EY Global Banking & Capital Markets Emerging
Markets and Asia Pacific Leader
Singapore
jan.bellens@sg.ey.com
+65 6309 6888
Karl Meekings
EY Global Banking & Capital Markets Lead Analyst
London
kmeekings@uk.ey.com
+44 20 7783 0081

Europe

Philippe Vidal
Philippe.Vidal@fr.ey.com
+33 1 46 93 50 00
Chris Bowles
cbowles@uk.ey.com
+44 20 7951 2391
David Williams
dwilliams2@uk.ey.com
+44 20 7951 4893
Tom Groom
tgroom@uk.ey.com
+44 20 7951 4813
Gagan Bhatnagar
Gagan.Bhatnagar@uk.ey.com
+44 20 7951 3150

Americas

Aviral Rai
aviral.rai@ey.com
+1 212 360 9191
Chris Rigg
christopher.rigg@ey.com
+1 312 656 3992
Roy Choudhury
roy.choudhury@ey.com
+1 718 664 8066

Asia-Pacific

Christopher Bradley
christopher.bradley@hk.ey.com
+852 2846 9885
Keith Lin
Keith.Lin@hk.ey.com
+852 26752188