Global Tax Alert | 22 February 2018

South Africa announces date for implementation of Carbon Tax

  • Share

Executive summary

On 21 February 2018, South Africa’s Minister of Finance announced that the Government proposes to implement the Carbon Tax in South Africa from 1 January 2019.

Detailed discussion

In the 2018 Budget Speech, presented on 21 February 2018, the Minister of Finance announced that the Carbon Tax Bill is expected to be enacted before the end of 2018 and the Government proposes to implement the Carbon Tax from 1 January 2019 to meet its nationally determined contributions under the 2015 Paris Agreement of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change.

National Treasury published the Second Draft Carbon Tax Bill in December 2017, inviting written comments to be submitted by close of business on 9 March 2018.1

Endnote

1. See EY Global Tax Alert, South Africa publishes Second Draft Carbon Tax Bill for public comment, dated 20 December 2017.

For additional information with respect to this Alert, please contact the following:

Ernst & Young Advisory Services Ltd., Johannesburg
  • Wendy Gardner
    wendy.gardner@za.ey.com
  • Alain Mahieu
    alain.mahieu@za.ey.com
  • Neo Penn
    neo.penn@za.ey.com
Ernst & Young LLP (United Kingdom), Pan African Tax Desk, London
  • Rendani Neluvhalani
    rendani.mabel.neluvhalani@uk.ey.com
  • Byron Thomas
    bthomas4@uk.ey.com
Ernst & Young LLP, Pan African Tax Desk, New York
  • Silke Mattern
    silke.mattern@ey.com
  • Dele A. Olaogun
    dele.olaogun@ey.com
  • Jacob Shipalane
    jacob.shipalane1@ey.com
Ernst & Young LLP, Pan African Tax Desk, Houston
  • Elvis Ngwa
    elvis.ngwa@ey.com

EYG no. 01004-181Gbl