Ratan Tata drives in himself to pick up E&Y award

  • Share


Adi Godrej, chairman of Godrej Group, received the ‘Entrepreneur of the Year’ award and Ratan Tata, chairman emeritus of Tata Group, the ‘Lifetime Achievement’ award, at the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Award 2012.

True to his modest self, Ratan Tata drove his Honda Civic to recieve the E&Y award.

Godrej will also represent India at the EY World Entrepreneur of the Year Award in Monte Carlo, Monaco in June.

This year, EY also gave special recognition to emerging entrepreneurs, with a special category called ‘Entrepreneur of the Year – Start-Up’, and ‘Entrepreneur of the Year – Services’, and ‘Entrepreneur of the Year - Manager’, which were awarded to Dr Naresh Trehan, chairman and managing director of Medanta – The Medicity, Dhiraj C Rajaram, chairman and CEO, MuSigma Business Solutions, and Francisco D’Souza, CEO, Cognizant Technology Solutions, respectively.

Dr Trehan is credited with setting up India’s first super-specialty hospital in Gurgaon, introducing India to robotic surgeries in cardiac, urology and gynaecology.

Dhiraj Rajaram is a first generation entrepreneur who set up his own analytics firm in 2005, and was able to raise $108 million funding from private equity firms within six years, in December 2011. The company has over 50 Fortune 200 clients.

Francisco D’Souza of Cognizant has been in the news recently. The company he co-founded when he was just 38 is expected to be India’s largest IT services company in North America by March 2013.

Other entrepreneurs who received awards were Dr Devi Prasad Shetty, chairman of Narayana Hrudalaya Group, in the Life Sciences and Healthcare category, T T Jagannathan, chairman of TTK Group, in the Consumer Products category, and Onkar S Kanwar, chairman and managing director, Apollo Tyres, in the Manufacturing category.

Cyrus S Poonawalla, CMD, Serum Institute of India, received the Business Transformation award.

The award winners were selected from a list of 16 finalists by an independent nine-member jury, whichincluded the likes of R C Bhargava, chairman, Maruti Suzuki, Harsh Mariwala of Marico, S Ramadorai of TCS, G V Prasad of Dr Reddy’s Laboratories, Sanjay Nayar of KKR India, Shikha Sharma of Axis Bank, Dr Rajiv B Lall of IDFC, Ishaat Hussain of Tata Sons and A Vellayan of the Murugappa Group. Sachin Pilot, minister of state for corporate affairs, presided over the evening, as the chief guest.