Dr. Cyrus S. Poonawalla is the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year India 2014

Mumbai, 5 February, 2015

  • Share
  • Dr. K. Radhakrishnan, Former Chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO)felicitated with Entrepreneur Of The Year Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Winners also announced in 7 other Award Categories

Dr. Cyrus S. Poonawalla, Chairman and Managing Director, Serum Institute Of India, who pioneered the development of affordable life-saving vaccines and is counted  among the largest vaccine manufacturers worldwide was today named the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2014.

Dr. K. Radhakrishnan, Former Chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), a key architect of India’s self-reliance in space and technology, who also oversaw the breakthrough Mangalyaan mission to Mars last year, was honored with the EY Lifetime Achievement Award.

Dr. Cyrus S. Poonawalla will now represent India at the EY World Entrepreneur of the Year Award (WEOY) in Monte Carlo from 3-7 June, 2015.

Eight other successful entrepreneurs also received these coveted awards across 7 categories at a glittering Awards banquet here today, which was attended by over 500 people, including many business leaders.

EY Entrepreneur of the Year 2014: Winners

  • EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2014: Dr. Cyrus S. Poonawalla
    Chairman and Managing Director, Serum Institute Of India
  • Lifetime Entrepreneur Of The Year: Dr. K. Radhakrishnan
    Former Chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation

Category Winners

  • Entrepreneur Of The Year - Start-Up: Kunal Bahl and Rohit Bansal
    Chief Executive Officer and Chief Operating Officer, Jasper Infotech (Snapdeal)
  • Entrepreneur Of The Year –  Services: Ajit Prabhu
    Chairman and CEO, QuEST Global
  • Entrepreneur Of The Year –  Manufacturing: Yogesh Mahansaria
    CEO, Alliance Tire Group
  • Entrepreneur of the Year – Entrepreneurial CEO of the Year: Arundhati Bhattacharya
    Chairman, State Bank of India
  • Entrepreneur Of The Year –  Financial Services: Sanjiv Bajaj
    Managing Director, Bajaj Finserv
  • Entrepreneur Of The Year – Life Sciences and Agrochemicals: Salil Singhal
    Chairman and Managing Director, PI Industries
  • Entrepreneur Of The Year –  Consumer Products: M.B. Parekh
    Chairman and Managing Director, Pidilite Industries

Says Rajiv Memani, Country Managing Partner, EY India: “The backdrop of the awards this year is clearly one of greater optimism about India’s growth prospects. What sets apart our winners  this year is their intense focus on the customer and their ability to leverage innovation – whether in their business models, their products, services or processes. Innovation has helped them create niches where none existed and also emerge more competitive.”

The winners were selected by an exemplary panel of nine Jury members led by Kumar Mangalam Birla, Chairman of the Aditya Birla group. Other Jury members included Mr. Arun Duggal, Director, Shriram Capital; Ms. Kalpana Morparia, Chief Executive Officer, J P Morgan; Mr. Keki Mistry, Vice Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, Housing Development Finance Corporation; Ms. Mallika Srinivasan, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, TAFE Group; Mr. R. Seshasayee, Executive Vice Chairman, Hinduja Group India;  Mr. Sandeep Naik, Managing Director, General Atlantic; Mr. Shardul S. Shroff, Managing Partner, Amarchand & Mangaldas & Suresh A Shroff & Co. and Dr. Yusuf K Hamied, Chairman, Cipla Ltd.

The Entrepreneur of The Year is the only business award to be based on self-nomination and it is now in its 16th year in India. Says Farokh Balsara, Partner EY and EOY India Program Leader, “We, at EY, believe that entrepreneurs with their transformative ideas are increasingly playing a pivotal role in the nation’s progress. In this knowledge-based global economy, through our outreach efforts, we are helping entrepreneurs overcome barriers to their success. The 16th edition of the EOY program in India honours the innovative game changers who have the ability to transform their dreams into thriving businesses and are inspiring others to go boldly into the future. Each of our winner’s  story is a  tale of grit, passion and vision and is truly inspiring.”

The 2014 EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Winner, Dr Cyrus S Poonawalla, has earlier been a winner of the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year - Lifesciences and Healthcare Category in 2007; and the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year - Business Transformation Category in 2014

- Ends -

About the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year™ Award

EY Entrepreneur Of The Year is the world’s most prestigious business award for entrepreneurs. The unique award makes a difference through the way it encourages entrepreneurial activity among those with potential, and recognizes the contribution of people who inspire others with their vision, leadership and achievement. As the first and only truly global award of its kind, EY Entrepreneur Of The Year™ celebrates those who are building and leading successful, growing and dynamic businesses, recognizing them through regional, national and global awards programs in more than 145 cities in 60 countries.

About EY

EY is a global leader in its Assurance, Tax, Transaction and Advisory services. Our insights and the quality services we deliver help to build trust and confidence in capital markets and in economies the world over. We develop outstanding leaders who team to deliver on our promises to all of our stakeholders. In doing so, we play a critical role in building a better working world for our people, for our clients and for our communities.

EY refers to the global organization and may also denote one or more of the member firms of EY Global Limited, each of which is a separate legal entity. EY Global Limited, a UK company, which is limited by guarantees, does not provide services to clients. For more information on our organization, please visit ey.com.

This news release has been issued by EYGM Limited, a member firm of the global EY organization. It also does not provide services to clients.