EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Award 2011 winners announced

  • Share

Rahul Bhatia of InterGlobe Enterprises is Entrepreneur of the Year 2011

Deepak Parekh of HDFC felicitated with Lifetime Achievement Award

Mumbai, 23 February 2012 - Mr. Rahul Bhatia, Group Managing Director, InterGlobe Enterprises, the country’s foremost travel conglomerate, was today named as the EY Entrepreneur of The Year 2011. Seven other successful entrepreneurs received these coveted awards across various categories at a magnificent celebratory banquet attended by over 400 of the country’s foremost business leaders here today in Mumbai. The awards were given by Mr. Anand Sharma, the Honourable Union Minister of Commerce, Industry & Textiles.

Mr. Rahul Bhatia now goes on to represent the country at the EY World Entrepreneur of the Year Award in Monte Carlo, Monaco this year. Under his able captainship, Mr. Bhatia has charted one of the most inspiring success stories in Indian aviation by creating India’s biggest low-cost carrier. The fact that such success was achieved in a competitive environment with several established players makes his achievement even more remarkable. Mr. Bhatia has the distinction of having won the EY Entrepreneur of The Year award in the Services category in 2010.

Over 300 nominations were received for the Entrepreneur Of the Year 2011 and the winners have been selected by an eminent Jury panel led by Mr R C Bhargava, Chairman, Maruti Suzuki Limited.

The Jury also named Mr. Deepak Parekh, Chairman, HDFC for the Lifetime Achievement Award, duly recognizing his immense contribution to the emergence of financial services in the country, as also to policy -making

The EY Entrepreneur of the Year (EOY) program, now in its 13th year in India, is widely recognized as the most premier business award and is the only global award program to recognize entrepreneurs.

Says Rajiv Memani, Country Managing Partner, EY, “We have always valued our association with entrepreneurs, who are the prime movers of the economy. Each of our winners this year has an extraordinary story, but apart from their size and scale, the common thread which binds them together is their intense focus on the customer. These individuals are providing a differential value proposition to customers by effectively using technology and innovation. We salute their achievements.”

EY Entrepreneur of the Year Winners – 2011:

  • Entrepreneur Of The Year 2011: Rahul Bhatia, Group Managing Director, InterGlobe Enterprises;
  • Lifetime Achievement : Deepak Parekh, Chairman, HDFC;
  • Business Transformation: Deep Kalra, Founder & CEO, Makemytrip (India);
  • Consumer Products: Dr. Anand Burman, Chairman, Dabur India
  • Life Sciences and Healthcare: Dr. Desh Bandhu Gupta, Founder & Chairman, Lupin;
  • Manager: Natarajan Chandrasekaran, MD & CEO, Tata Consultancy Services;
  • Manufacturing: Vivek Chaand Sehgal, Founder & Chairman, Samvardhana Motherson Group;
  • Services: Analjit Singh, Founder & Chairman, Max India Group;
  • Start-up : Dr. BS Ajaikumar, Founder & Chairman, Healthcare Global Enterprises;

Says Farokh Balsara, Partner and Leader - Entrepreneur of the Year Program, EY India, “The program is evolving each year, reflecting the transformation in our economy. The outstanding number of nominations this year reflects not only the appeal of our program, but also the confidence and conviction demonstrated by Indian entrepreneurs today. Many of our winners have gone on to boldly acquire and integrate new businesses, pioneered path-breaking innovations and created unique business models which are touching the lives of millions of people in urban and rural India.”

Jury for the 2011 Program: In addition to the Jury Chair for the Entrepreneur of the Year 2011, Mr R.C. Bhargava, other jury members include Ms. Chanda Kochhar, ICICI Bank; Mr. Dalip Pathak, Warburg Pincus International; Mr.G.V. Prasad, Dr. Reddy’s Laboratories; Mr. Sanjay Nayar, KKR (India); Mr. Sunil Kant Munjal, Hero Corporate Service; Mr. S Ramadorai, Tata Consultancy Services.


About The EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Award

EY Entrepreneur Of The Year™ is the world’s most prestigious business award for entrepreneurs. The unique award makes a difference through the way it encourages entrepreneurial activity among those with potential, and recognizes the contribution of people who inspire others with their vision, leadership and achievement. As the first and only truly global award of its kind, EY Entrepreneur Of The Year celebrates those who are building and leading successful, growing and dynamic businesses, recognizing them through regional, national and global awards programs in more than 140 cities in 50 countries.

For more information, please visit www.ey.com/india/eoy

About EY 

EY is a global leader in assurance, tax, transaction and advisory services. Worldwide, our 152,000 people are united by our shared values and an unwavering commitment to quality. We make a difference by helping our people, our clients and our wider communities achieve their potential.

EY refers to the global organization of member firms of Ernst & Young Global Limited, each of which is a separate legal entity. Ernst & Young Global Limited, a UK company limited by guarantee, does not provide services to clients. For more information about our organization, please visit www.ey.com.

This news release has been issued by EY Private Limited which is one of the Indian client serving member firms of Ernst & Young Global Limited.