Tony Hackney of BSW Timber Group named EY Scotland Entrepreneur Of The Year

  • Share

Friday 22 June 2012: Tony Hackney, chief executive officer of BSW Timber Group, was last night named EY Scotland Overall Entrepreneur Of The Year 2012 at an awards dinner held at the Gleneagles Hotel.

Judges described Hackney as having done a “phenomenal job in a difficult market” and praised him for “turning the market upside down” while displaying a sense of “drive and urgency”.

Since taking over the reins at Berwickshire-based sawmilling business in 2008, Tony has taken it from a loss-making company to the biggest of its kind in Britain, increasing turnover by 60% to £163 million.

His aim is to raise the profile of BSW both nationally and internationally while fiercely promoting home-grown products in the face of stiff competition from importers.

Tony beat 23 other business leaders to the top prize and will represent Scotland at the UK Entrepreneur Of The Year final in October along with a further seven contenders (see below) who were also recognised at the awards.

Jim Bishop, Scotland senior partner at EY and the professional services firm’s Entrepreneur Of The Year leader north of the border, said: “Tony has achieved outstanding results in a short period of time, transforming BSW into a market-leading business.

“He brought stability to the company, successfully created two new user-friendly brands and established sound business principles all while maintaining the company’s family values.

“He has displayed the qualities shared by our previous winners: energy, vision and a remarkable talent for innovation.”

David Sibbald OBE, chief executive chairman of Aridhia Informatics, was presented with a special award in recognition of his services to Scottish science and philanthropy.

Sponsored in the UK by Credit Suisse, EY’s Entrepreneur Of The Year programme celebrates the achievements of those who build and lead successful, growing and dynamic businesses.

The Scottish judging panel was led by Alex Stewart, operating partner at Clyde Blowers Capital, and featured: Colin Robertson, chief executive officer of Alexander Dennis Limited and Scotland Entrepreneur Of The Year 2011; Keith Neilson, chief executive officer of Craneware plc; John Scott, founder of Scott Group Investments Ltd; John Anderson, chief executive of the Entrepreneurial Exchange; Simon Munro, regional director for Scotland at the Business Growth Fund; and Susan Aktemel, founding director of Impact Arts.

The full list of EY Scotland Entrepreneur Of The Year 2012 regional winners is as follows:

  • Tony Hackney, chief executive officer, BSW Timber Group (overall winner)
  • Nigel Gray, group chief executive officer, Braid Group Holdings
  • Kevin Dorren, chief executive officer, Diet Chef
  • Colin Rowley, managing director, Dron & Dickson
  • Lucinda Bruce-Gardyne, founder, Genius Foods
  • Billy Walker, managing director, The BenRiach Distillery Company
  • Charlie Millar, chief executive officer, Cassiltoun Housing Association (social enterprise category)
  • Neil McLean, chief executive, Social Enterprise Academy (social enterprise category)