EY partner enters BBC list of UK’s top 100 most powerful women

  • Share
EY’s managing partner for people, Liz Bingham, has been recognised as one of the UK’s most powerful women, with an entry in the BBC Radio 4 Woman’s Hour Power List 2013.

As the only ‘Big Four’ representative in the list, Liz was included among 100 influential women from the world of politics, fashion, the arts and education and was one of only six representatives from banking and finance.

Liz’s recognition came as the result of her long and successful career in accountancy as well as her work on changing attitudes towards diversity, flexible working and inclusiveness in the workplace.

The Woman’s Hour Power List ranks the 100 most powerful women in the UK at the start of 2013 and documents the achievements of British women across public life and the contribution women have made in society. The participants were nominated by the public and the list compiled by a panel of influential judges.

Commenting on her inclusion Liz said:  “I feel truly honoured and humbled to be included in the Woman’s Hour Power List alongside such prominent and successful women. It is important that we continue to use our influence to encourage future generations and to have a positive impact on women in the world of business and wider society.”

Managing Partner for EY, Steve Varley, said: “It is a fantastic accomplishment for Liz to be included in this select list as she has been at the forefront of shaping and framing the diversity and inclusiveness agenda in business. Her work has allowed us to share our expertise with many companies on the common opportunities and challenges we face in ensuring we are using the best of all the talent available to us.”

Liz has been with EY for over 25 years, formerly heading up the corporate restructuring practice, and now leads the firm’s approach to people development in the UK & Ireland. Last year, Liz picked up the top accolade at the Women in Banking and Finance Awards as well as being recognised at the CBI First Women Awards in 2011.