Proserv’s David Lamont crowned EY Scotland Entrepreneur Of The Year

14 June 2013

  • Share

Oil industry specialist David Lamont, chief executive officer at Proserv, was last night named EY Scotland Overall Entrepreneur Of The Year 2013 at an awards dinner held at the Gleneagles Hotel.

Judges described Lamont, who has more than 28 years of industry experience, as being “entrepreneurial at heart” and praised him and his company for doing “the right thing the right way”.

Since assuming control of the Aberdeen-based oil services company two years ago he has overseen a 25% year-on-year growth in business and plans to replicate this pattern in coming years through new strategic acquisitions.

David beat 28 other business leaders to the top prize and will represent Scotland at the UK Entrepreneur Of The Year final in October along with a further 12 contenders (see below) whose achievements were also recognised at the ceremony.

Jim Bishop, Scotland senior partner at EY (EY) and the professional service’s firm’s Entrepreneur Of The Year leader north of the border, said: “David has moulded a phenomenal business of a truly global nature. His outstanding results were achieved by reshaping and strengthening his team and overseeing important and impressive developments while maintaining the highest ethical standards.

“Congratulations must also be extended to our other regional winners and finalists. This was the strongest field in recent years and serves to highlight that the flame of entrepreneurialism still burns bright in Scotland.”

Sponsored across the UK by Credit Suisse, EY’s Entrepreneur Of The Year programme celebrates the achievements of those who build and lead successful, growing and dynamic businesses.

The Scottish judging panel was led by Alex Stewart, operating partner at Clyde Blowers Capital, and featured: Tony Hackney, CEO of BSW Timber Group and Scotland Entrepreneur Of The Year 2012; Colin Robertson, CEO of Alexander Dennis Limited and Scotland Entrepreneur Of The Year 2011; Lucinda Bruce-Gardyne, founder of Genius Foods and UK Emerging Entrepreneur Of The Year 2012; John Scott, founder of Scott Group Investments Ltd; Simon Munro, Business Growth Fund regional director for Scotland; Gregor Alexander, CFO at SSE plc; and Susan Aktemel, founder of Homes for Good.

The full list of EY Scotland Entrepreneur of The Year 2013 regional winners is as follows:

  • David Lamont, chief executive officer, Proserv (overall winner)
  • John Innes, chief executive officer, Amor Group
  • Paul Moore, managing director, Dieselec Thistle Generators
  • Douglas Anderson and Iain Anderson, joint managing directors, GAP Group
  • Carl Hodson, general manager, and Duncan Skinner, chairman, Glencraft
  • Kevin Stewart, chief executive officer, Meta
  • James Dunbar, chief executive, New Start Highland
  • Alan McLeish, QTS Rail Ltd
  • Darren Bunker and Raymond Kerr, co-founders, QubeGB
  • Simon Howie, chief executive officer, Simon Howie Group