Press release

EY announces Entrepreneur Of The Year® 2013 finalists in the Utah Region

Salt Lake City, Utah, 11 April 2013

  • Share

Ernst & Young LLP today announced the finalists for the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year® 2013 Award in the Utah Region. The awards program recognizes high-growth entrepreneurs who demonstrate excellence and extraordinary success in such areas as innovation, financial performance and personal commitment to their businesses and communities. These finalists were selected from 52 nominations by a panel of independent judges. Award winners will be announced at a special gala event on June 20, 2013 at The Grand America Hotel.

Adam Kessler, CEO
Academy Mortgage – Sandy, Utah

Jefferson Pedersen, CEO & Founder
Cariloha – Sandy, Utah

Phil Hansen, CEO
CLEARLINK – Salt Lake City, Utah

Chad Christensen, President & Chairman of the Board & Daniel Shaeffer, CEO
Cottonwood Residential, Inc. – Salt Lake City, Utah

Jason Mathis, Executive Director
Downtown Alliance – Salt Lake City, Utah

Spencer Angerbauer, President
EQUINOX Business Solutions – Salt Lake City, Utah

Joseph Atkin, CEO & President & Robert Workman, Founder
Goal Zero – Bluffdale, Utah

Stephen Neeleman, CEO & Founder
HealthEquity, Inc. – Draper, Utah

Kevin Plumb, CTO & Jeffrey Smith, CEO
Ingram Medical – Sandy, Utah

Dave Elkington, CEO & Founder – Provo, Utah

Ryan Dewey, VP Operations & Founder, Jim Jenson, VP Marketing & Founder,
John MacKay, CEO & President & Reed Quinn, Director & Founder,
Lumos, Inc. DBA KT Tape – Lindon, Utah

Tony Zito, CEO
mediaFORGE – Midvale, Utah

Adam Cohen, CEO
Odyssey House of Utah – Salt Lake City, Utah

Jeff Burningham, Managing Partner & Founder
Peak Capital Partners – Orem, Utah

Aaron Skonnard, CEO
Pluralsight – Layton, Utah

Curt Doman, CTO & Founder & Brent Wilson, President & Founder
Progressive Finance Holdings, LLC – Draper, Utah

Dave Bateman, CEO
Property Solutions International, Inc. – Lehi, Utah

Paul Ballif, Vice-President & Robert Hicken, President,
RJ Masonry, Delta Stone Products, & Mountain Valley – Heber City, Utah

Erin Trenbeath-Murray, Director
Salt Lake CAP Head Start – Salt Lake City, Utah

Rett Clevenger, CEO & Jana Francis, President & Founder – Salt Lake City, Utah

William Hamill, President
Uinta Brewing Company – Salt Lake City, Utah

Dan Fischer, CEO & President
Ultradent Products, Inc. and Opal Orthodontics – South Jordan, Utah

Douglas Burgoyne, CEO & President
VRx – Salt Lake City, Utah

Mary Young, Executive Vice President & Founder
Young Living Essential Oils – Lehi, Utah

Bryce Johnson, CEO
Zarbee's Inc. – Draper, Utah

Harris Simmons, Chairman, President & CEO
Zions Bancorporation – Salt Lake City, Utah

Key Statistics

  • Collectively, these entrepreneurs created nearly 3,000 jobs in the past three years providing 18,691 jobs at the end of 2012.
  • The 26 finalist companies generated nearly $3.5 billion of revenue in 2012.
  • Seventeen of the 35 finalists are serial entrepreneurs. These finalists have started and grown at least one other company prior to leading their current company. Of those 17, two won the Entrepreneur Of The Year Award with a previous company they founded.
  • Collectively, these finalists grew their company’s employment by nearly 20% and their revenues by 28% between 2010 and 2012.

Now in its 27th year, the Entrepreneur Of The Year Program has expanded globally to recognize company builders in over 140 cities and in more than 50 countries throughout the world.

Regional award winners go on to compete at the national level. Award winners in several national categories, as well as the National EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Overall Award winner, will be announced at the annual awards gala in Palm Springs, California, on November 16, 2013. The awards are the culminating event of the EY Strategic Growth Forum®, the nation’s most prestigious gathering of high-growth, market-leading companies.

Founded and produced by Ernst & Young LLP, the Entrepreneur Of The Year Awards are nationally sponsored by SAP America and the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation.

In the Utah Region, local sponsors include Corporate Staging Resources, LLC, Digital Bytes Production & Design, Diversified Insurance Group, Raymond James Financial Services, Inc. Scherzer International, Strong & Hanni Law Firm and The Summit Group Communications.

About EY’s Entrepreneur Of The Year®
EY’s Entrepreneur Of The Year is the world’s most prestigious business award for entrepreneurs. The unique award recognizes the significant contributions of entrepreneurs who inspire others with their vision, leadership and achievement.

About Ernst & Young LLP’s Strategic Growth Markets practice
Ernst & Young LLP’s Strategic Growth Markets (SGM) practice guides leading high-growth companies. Our multidisciplinary team of elite professionals provides perspective and advice to help our clients accelerate market leadership. SGM delivers assurance, tax, transactions and advisory services to thousands of companies spanning all industries. EY is the undisputed leader in taking companies public, advising key government agencies on the issues impacting high-growth companies and convening the experts who shape the business climate. For more information, please visit us at, or follow news on Twitter at EY_Growth.

About EY
EY is a global leader in assurance, tax, transaction and advisory services. Worldwide, our 167,000 people are united by our shared values and an unwavering commitment to quality. We make a difference by helping our people, our clients and our wider communities achieve their potential.

For more information, please visit

EY refers to the global organization of member firms of Ernst & Young Global Limited, each of which is a separate legal entity. Ernst & Young Global Limited, a UK company limited by guarantee, does not provide services to clients.

This news release has been issued by Ernst & Young LLP, a client-serving member firm of Ernst Young Global Limited operating in the US.