Press release

29 Nov 2019

Geoff Chutter of WhiteWater named EY Entrepreneur Of The Year® 2019 national winner

Seven entrepreneurs recognized with national special citations for outstanding achievements

Press contacts

Sarah Shields

EY Canada Assistant Director, Public Relations

Passionate communicator and writer. Firmly believes Vancouver summers are worth six months of rain.

Victoria McQueen

EY Canada Specialist, Public Relations

Supporting the development and distribution of external communications and social media across Canada. Can be found by the lake in the summer and on the slopes in the winter.

Camille Larivière

EY Canada Specialist, Public Relations

Public Relations and Communications professional. Proud ambassador of the French language in Canada. Intellectually curious. Caffeine-dependent. Loves Canadian winters.

Related topics Entrepreneurship

(Toronto, November 29, 2019) Geoff Chutter, President and CEO of WhiteWater — a leading global designer and manufacturer of water park products and family attractions — is this year’s EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2019 national award winner.

“Geoff is a force to be reckoned with,” says François Tellier, EY Entrepreneur Of The Year National Program Director. “Not only has he curated the largest product range in the industry, but he’s reinvented the entire water park experience along the way. His vision for a one-stop-shop service has revolutionized the supplier business model and shaped the type of attractions that go into water parks worldwide.”

Geoff continuously fosters a culture of comradery and giving back among his team. Throughout the year, he generously contributes to his community by participating in local initiatives like Give Kids the World Run and Thanks for Giving, and by personally supporting Vancouver’s Covenant House as the Treasurer and Chair of the Development Committee. His philanthropic attitude and teamwork mentality, where staff help one another and their community, are a driving force behind WhiteWater’s success.

“We’re honoured to celebrate Geoff’s unstoppable, purpose-driven leadership,” says Tellier. “His perseverance to experiment and explore new markets has allowed WhiteWater to conquer over 200 global projects, across 30 countries this year alone. We’re excited to have him represent Canada in Monaco next June alongside innovative entrepreneurs from around the world.”

The national award was presented at a black-tie ceremony in Toronto last night. The event marked the culmination of five regional galas nationwide. Overall winners from each of the five regions were up against Geoff for the national title:

Geoff also shared the stage with seven other entrepreneurs who were awarded EY Entrepreneur Of The Year national special citations for the unique mark they’ve made on the entrepreneurial landscape and their unstoppable spirits. 

·Entrepreneurial leadership: John Chamberlaine of Action Car & Truck Accessories Inc.

  • Growth: John Beck of Aecon
  • Inspirational Journey: Andreea Crisan of Andy Transport
  • Product innovation: Tara Bosch of SmartSweets
  • Strategic business execution: David Cataford and Michael O'Keeffe of Champion Iron Limited
  • Supply-chain innovation: Scott Gravelle of ATTAbotics
  • Values-based innovation: Manny Kohli of Matt & Nat

The gala also honoured Dr. Dionne Laslo-Baker of DeeBee’s Organics who was recognized in EY Entrepreneurial Winning Women™ North America Class of 2019.The program acts as an accelerator to help successful women entrepreneurs gain knowhow, mentorship and resources to grow their business, access capital and develop the networks necessary to become a formidable force in their industries.

Next up, Geoff will compete with more than 60 other country winners for the title of EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year in Monte Carlo, Monaco, in June 2020.

More information

Follow @EYCanada and #EOYCanada on Twitter for the latest event updates. The nominations for next year’s EY Entrepreneur Of The Year program are open now. To find out more, visit


About EY Entrepreneur Of The Year®

EY Entrepreneur Of The Year® is the world’s most prestigious business awards program for entrepreneurs. The program makes a difference through the way it encourages entrepreneurial activity among those with potential and recognizes the contribution of people who inspire others with their vision, leadership and achievement. As the first and only truly global awards program of its kind, Entrepreneur Of The Year celebrates those who are building and leading successful, growing and dynamic businesses, recognizing them through regional, national and global awards programs in more than 145 cities in more than 60 countries.

The 2019 national independent judging panel consists of Murad Al-Katib President, AGT Foods; Germain Lamonde President and Founder, EXFO; Ed Barrett President, Barrett Corporation; Andrew Richardson President and CEO, Targray Technology International; Mark Gordon Managing Partner, ONCAP; Ali Pejman Partner, Fort Capital Partners.

This year's program national sponsors are The Globe and Mail Inc., ICI RDI, TMX Group, Air Canada, Media One Creative and The Printing House Limited.

About EY

EY is a global leader in assurance, tax, transaction and advisory services. The insights and quality services we deliver help build trust and confidence in the capital markets and in economies the world over. We develop outstanding leaders who team to deliver on our promises to all of our stakeholders. In so doing, we play a critical role in building a better working world for our people, for our clients and for our communities.

For more information, please visit Follow us on Twitter @EYCanada.

EY refers to the global organization, and may refer to one or more, of the member firms of Ernst & Young Global Limited, each of which is a separate legal entity. Ernst & Young Global Limited, a UK company limited by guarantee, does not provide services to clients. Information about how EY collects and uses personal data and a description of the rights individuals have under data protection legislation are available via For more information about our organization, please visit