Press release

17 Aug 2020 Kuala Lumpur, MY

EY seeks unstoppable entrepreneurs

Nominations for the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2020 Malaysia awards now open

The prestigious EY Entrepreneur Of The Year (EOY) Malaysia Awards programme is calling for nominations from Malaysia’s most exceptional and revolutionary entrepreneurs for its 2020 programme.

Currently in its 19th year, the EOY 2020 Malaysia programme seeks to recognize and celebrate the achievements of outstanding entrepreneurs across four categories: Emerging, Technology, Woman and Master. An overall country winner will be chosen from among the four category winners, and the country winner will then go on to represent Malaysia at the prestigious EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year (WEOY) next year.

Nominees will be assessed by a panel of independent judges guided by a set of globally benchmarked criteria that include entrepreneurial spirit, value creation, strategic direction, national and global impact, innovation, and personal integrity/purpose-driven leadership.

In line with this year’s theme, “The Unstoppables”, the EOY Malaysia programme seeks to recognize and celebrate the exceptional men and women who possess the grit, persistence and sense of ambition that’s free of doubt or fear, to trailblaze and deliver innovation, growth and prosperity that transform our world.

Philip Rao, Partner, Ernst & Young Advisory Services Sdn. Bhd. and Programme Director of the EOY Malaysia programme shares, “Entrepreneurs have always been at the core of a thriving economy; and in these unprecedented times, the need for our innovative change-makers to break new grounds and extend frontiers with transformative ideas is more vital now than ever. Entrepreneurs set themselves apart by being able to see beyond the present and reimagine a new reality that contributes long-term value and purpose beyond simple profits. Their passion, creativity and bold courage propel them to defy adversity and find new solutions for a more sustainable future, particularly in these uncertain times; ultimately, building a better working world.”

Rao continues, “Since the inception of the award programme in Malaysia in 2002, EOY Malaysia has been tremendously privileged to have had the opportunity to share the inspiring stories and journeys of some of Malaysia’s extraordinary entrepreneurs on an international stage. [Please refer to Fact sheet A: EOY Malaysia past winners]

We are confident there are more outstanding Malaysian entrepreneurs out there whose inspiring stories should be heard, whose vision and contributions should be recognized, and whose person should be celebrated. Help us do this by nominating them for our EOY Malaysia awards this year,” urges Rao.

The EOY Awards programme is the first and only truly global awards programme of its kind. Besides enhancing the profile of entrepreneurs locally and internationally, the annual WEOY provides an incredible platform for some of the world’s best innovative thinkers, inspiring entrepreneurs, game changers and government leaders from more than 60 countries to share and engage while building their global business network.

On 5 June 2020, Mr Dang Tai Luk, Founder and CEO of Mynews Holdings Bhd, the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2019 Malaysia, represented Malaysia at the first ever virtual EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year event. More than 2.5 million viewers joined the celebration to learn how the 46 award winners from 41 countries and territories are rising up to face today’s challenges in remarkable ways. Watch the full event here.

“The EOY Malaysia programme is the first step towards WEOY. Therefore, we strongly urge our Malaysian entrepreneurs, regardless of their business industry or size, to participate in the EOY Malaysia programme,” concludes Rao.

For more information about the EOY 2020 Malaysia programme and to submit a nomination, visit Nominations close on 30 September 2020.

The EOY 2020 Malaysia programme is proud to have these organisations join EY in support of entrepreneurship:

  • BFM 89.9
  • Bits and Pixels Sdn Bhd
  • Bursa Malaysia Bhd
  • Malaysia Digital Economy Corporation (MDEC)
  • Nanyang Siang Pau
  • The Edge

- Ends -

About EY Entrepreneur Of The Year™

EY Entrepreneur Of The Year™ is the world’s most prestigious business awards program for unstoppable entrepreneurs. These visionary leaders deliver innovation, growth and prosperity that transform our world. The program engages entrepreneurs with insights and experiences that foster growth. It connects them with their peers to strengthen entrepreneurship around the world. EY Entrepreneur Of The Year is the first and only truly global awards program of its kind. It celebrates entrepreneurs through regional and national awards programs in more than 145 cities in over 60 countries. Winners go on to compete for the EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year™ title.

About EY

EY is a global leader in assurance, tax, strategy, transaction and consulting services. The insights and quality services we deliver help build trust and confidence in the capital markets and in economies the world over. We develop outstanding leaders who team to deliver on our promises to all of our stakeholders. In so doing, we play a critical role in building a better working world for our people, for our clients and for our communities.

EY refers to the global organization, and may refer to one or more, of the member firms of Ernst & Young Global Limited, each of which is a separate legal entity. Ernst & Young Global Limited, a UK company limited by guarantee, does not provide services to clients. Information about how EY collects and uses personal data and a description of the rights individuals have under data protection legislation is available via  For more information about our organization, please visit

This news release has been issued by Ernst & Young Advisory Services Sdn. Bhd, a member of the global EY organization.

Fact sheet A: Past EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Malaysia winners

2002 Tan Sri (Dr.) Francis Yeoh, YTL Corporation Bhd.
2003 Tan Sri Dr. Mohd Nadzmi Mohd Salleh, Nadicorp Holdings Sdn. Bhd.
2004 Tan Sri Dr. Lim Wee-Chai, Top Glove Corporation Bhd.
2005 Prof. Emeritus Tan Sri Lim Kok Wing, Limkokwing University College of Creative Technology
2006 Tan Sri Tony Fernandes, Air Asia Bhd.
2007 Dato’ Sri Edmund Santhara
2008 Tan Sri A. K. Nathan, Eversendai Corporation Bhd.
2009 Tan Sri Shahril Shamsuddin, Sapura Group of Companies
2010 Dato’ Seri Stanley Thai, Supermax Corporation Bhd.
2011 Tan Sri Liew Kee Sin, Eco World Development Group Bhd.
2012 Dr. Chia Song Kun, QL Resources Bhd.
2013 Tan Sri Dr. Ngau Boon Keat, Dialog Group Bhd.
2014 Mr. Goh Peng Ooi, Silverlake Axis Ltd.
2015 Datuk Tan Say Jim
2016 Mr. Goh Miah Kiat, Karex Berhad
2017 Mr. Chiau Haw Choon, Chin Hin Group Bhd
2018 Mr Song Hoi-see, Plaza Premium Group
2019 Mr Dang Tai Luk, Mynews Holdings Bhd