Finalists announced for the 16th EY India Entrepreneur of the YearTM awards

Mumbai, 23 January, 2015

  • Share

Lifetime Achievement conferred on Dr. K. Radhakrishnan, Former Chairman, ISRO

EY, global professional services organisation, announced the finalists for its 16th Entrepreneur of the YearTM - India 2014 on 23 January 2015. This year, the program sees a total of 15 shortlisted finalists from the 330 phenomenal nominations received during the year.

Mr. Devendra Fadnavis, Hon. Chief Minister of Maharashtra, will be the Guest of Honour and Mr. Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu, Hon. Minister of Railways, will be the Chief Guest at the celebratory banquet and felicitation ceremony to be held on 5 February 2015 at Taj Lands End, Mumbai.

Dr. K. Radhakrishnan, Former Chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), a key architect of India’s space exploration missions, will be honored with Lifetime Achievement for his numerous accomplishments. The latest amongst his many achievements was the successful launch of Mars Orbiter Mission, Mangalyaan, which received worldwide recognition.

The Finalists for the 16th EY Entrepreneur Of The YearTM 2014 are:

  • Amith Agarwal, Director, StarAgri Warehousing and Collateral Management
  • Sanjay Agarwal, Founder and Managing Director, Au Financiers
  • Kunal Bahl, Chief Executive Officer and Rohit Bansal, Chief Operating Officer, Jasper Infotech (Snapdeal)
  • Sanjiv Bajaj, Managing Director, Bajaj Finserv
  • Achal Bakeri, Founder, Chairman & Managing Director, Symphony
  • Arundhati Bhattacharya, Chairman, State Bank of India
  • Anita Dongre, Founder & Chief Creative Officer, And Designs India
  • Ashish Hemrajani, Chief Executive Officer, BigTree Entertainment (
  • Ashok Kajaria, Chairman and Managing Director, Kajaria Ceramics
  • Yogesh Mahansaria, CEO, Alliance Tire Group
  • V.K. Mathews, Executive Chairman, IBS Software Services
  • M.B. Parekh, Chairman and Managing Director, Pidilite Industries
  • Dr. Cyrus S. Poonawalla, Chairman and Managing Director, Serum Institute Of India
  • Ajit Prabhu, Chairman and CEO, QuEST Global
  • Salil Singhal, Chairman and MD, PI Industries

An exemplary panel of nine Jury members led by Kumar Mangalam Birla, Chairman of the Aditya Birla group, was instrumental in selecting the winners. Other Jury members included Mr. Arun Duggal, Director, Shriram Capital; Ms. Kalpana Morparia, Chief Executive Officer, J P Morgan; Mr. Keki Mistry, Vice Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, Housing Development Finance Corporation; Ms. Mallika Srinivasan, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, TAFE Group; Mr. R. Seshasayee, Executive Vice Chairman, Hinduja Group India; Mr. Sandeep Naik, Managing Director, General Atlantic; Mr. Shardul Shroff, Managing Partner, Amarchand & Mangaldas & Suresh A Shroff & Co. and Dr. Yusuf K Hamied, Chairman, Cipla Ltd.

The country winner from India will go on to represent India at the EY World Entrepreneur of the Year Award (WEOY) in Monte Carlo from 3 – 7 June, 2015.

Rajiv Memani, Chairman, EY India, says, “The backdrop of the awards this year is clearly one of greater optimism about India’s growth prospects. What sets apart our 17 finalists this year is their intense focus on the customer and their ability to leverage innovation – whether in their business models, their products, services or processes. Innovation has helped them create niches where none existed and also emerge more competitive.”

The Jury considered a host of criterion, including the nominee’s entrepreneurial spirit, recent financial performance, strategic direction, product or service innovation, company leadership including personal integrity and risk-taking, values and key employee initiatives, and involvement with the community.

“We at EY believe that entrepreneurs with their transformative ideas are increasingly playing a pivotal role in the nation’s progress. In this knowledge-based global economy, through our outreach efforts, we are helping entrepreneurs overcome barriers to their success. The 16th edition of the EOY program in India honours the innovative game changers who have the ability to transform their dreams into thriving businesses and are inspiring others to go boldly into the future. Each of our finalists’ story is a telling tale of grit, passion and vision and is truly inspiring” says Farokh Balsara, Partner and EOY India Program Leader.

The winners will join the ranks of legendary business leaders and award recipients such as Uday Kotak (Kotak Mahindra Bank), Rahul Bhatia (IndiGo), N.R Narayana Murthy (Infosys), Ratan Tata (Tata Group), Adi Godrej (Godrej Group), Mukesh D Ambani (Reliance), Sunil Bharti Mittal (Bharti Group), Kumar Mangalam Birla (Aditya Birla Group), Subhash Chandra (Zee Telefilms), Anil Agarwal (Vedanta), Tulsi Tanti (Suzlon), Anand Mahindra (M&M) and Dilip Shanghvi (Sun Pharmaceuticals).

- Ends -

About EY Entrepreneur Of The YearTM Award

EY Entrepreneur Of The Year is the world’s most prestigious business award for entrepreneurs. The unique award makes a difference through the way it encourages entrepreneurial activity among those with potential, and recognizes the contribution of people who inspire others with their vision, leadership and achievement. As the first and only truly global award of its kind, EY Entrepreneur Of The YearTM celebrates those who are building and leading successful, growing and dynamic businesses, recognizing them through regional, national and global awards programs in more than 145 cities in 60 countries.

About EY

EY is a global leader in its Assurance, Tax, Transaction and Advisory services. Our insights and the quality services we deliver help to build trust and confidence in capital markets and in economies the world over. We develop outstanding leaders who team to deliver on our promises to all of our stakeholders. In doing so, we play a critical role in building a better working world for our people, for our clients and for our communities.

EY refers to the global organization and may also denote one or more of the member firms of EY Global Limited, each of which is a separate legal entity. EY Global Limited, a UK company, which is limited by guarantees, does not provide services to clients. For more information on our organization, please visit

This news release has been issued by EYGM Limited, a member firm of the global EY organization. It also does not provide services to clients.