Vinita and Nilesh Gupta of Lupin Limited win EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Award 2015

Mumbai, 11 February 2016

  • Share
  • Dr. F. C. Kohli, Former Vice Chairman, Tata Consultancy Services felicitated with Entrepreneur Of The Year Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Winners also announced in 8 other Award Categories

Vinita Gupta, CEO and Nilesh Gupta, MD of Lupin Limited, who have brought about a phenomenal transformation at Lupin Limited with spectacular growth in global and domestic markets while also creating tremendous value for stakeholders in a relatively short span of time, were today named the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2015.

Dr. F. C. Kohli, the former Vice-Chairman of Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) and an individual widely acknowledged as the doyen of the Indian technology sector, was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his pioneering contribution towards the Indian software industry and nation building.

The awards were presented by Shri Nitin Gadkari, the Honourable Union Minister for Road Transport, and Highways, and Shipping, who was the Chief Guest at the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Awards’ Banquet here today. Shri Gadkari also presented awards across eight categories in the presence of over 400 of the country’s business leaders.

Vinita and Nilesh Gupta will now represent India at the EY World Entrepreneur of the Year Award (WEOY) in Monte Carlo from 7-12 June 2016.

The winners of the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2015 are:

  • EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2015: Vinita Gupta, CEO,  and Nilesh Gupta, MD
    Lupin Limited
  • Lifetime Entrepreneur Of The Year: Dr. F. C. Kohli
    Former Vice Chairman, TCS

Category Winners

  • Start-Up
    Vijay Shekhar Sharma, Founder & CEO
    One97 Communications Limited (Paytm)
  • Business Transformation
    Siddhartha Lal, MD & CEO
    Eicher Motors Limited
  • Retail & Consumer Products
    R.S. Agarwal, Executive Chairman and R.S. Goenka, Whole-time Director
    Emami Limited
  • Lifesciences & Healthcare 
    Samir Mehta, Chairman
    Torrent Pharmaceuticals Limited
  • Manufacturing
    Dr. Ramachandra N. Galla, Chairman
    Amara Raja Batteries Limited
  • Services
    Krishnakumar Natarajan, CEO and MD
    Mindtree Limited
  • Financial Services
    Chandra Shekhar Ghosh, CMD
    Bandhan Bank
  • Entrepreneurial CEO
    Romesh Sobti, MD and CEO
    IndusInd Bank Limited

Rajiv Memani, Chairman, EY India, says, “Businesses and society the world over are seeing a massive transformation brought about by digital disruption. The winners this year come from traditional to new-age businesses, but what is common to them is their agility to ride the wave of change. They have radically transformed their business models and continue to do so, even as they seek to build greater stakeholder value.”

A distinguished 11-member jury led by Adi Godrej selected the winners. Other jury members include Subodh Bhargava, Chairman, Tata Communications; Rahul Bhatia, Whole-time Director, InterGlobe Enterprises Limited; Arundhati Bhattacharya, Chairperson, State Bank of India; Sanjeev Bikhchandani, Founder and Executive Vice-Chairman, Info Edge (India) Limited; Bharat Doshi, Chairman, Mahindra & Mahindra Financial Services; Kalpana Morparia, CEO, JP Morgan India; Rishad Premji, Chief Strategy Officer, Wipro; Renuka Ramnath, MD & CEO, Multiples Alternate Asset Management; Dilip Shanghvi, MD, Sun Pharmaceutical Industries; and Shashank Singh, Partner and MD, Apax Partners India Advisers Private Limited.

Adi Godrej, Jury Chairman and Chairman, Godrej Group, says, “For the 17th Entrepreneur of the Year™ Awards, we have selected some extraordinary individuals who have contributed significantly to India’s progress. India needs entrepreneurs, people who do new things. Entrepreneurs will create a country, which to my mind will become the world’s largest economy by 2050. This is a great move by EY to help people do even better in their respective fields.”

The Entrepreneur of The Year is the only business award to be based on self-nomination and is now in its 17th year in India. Says Farokh Balsara, Partner and EOY India Program Leader, “The winners for this year have successfully transformed their ideas and vision into sustainable businesses, and epitomize the theme – ‘Ideas. Innovation. Inspiration.’ By fostering inclusive growth, they continue to be a source of inspiration for many. By enabling these entrepreneurs, we are delivering on our purpose of building a better working world.”


About EY Entrepreneur Of The YearTM Award

EY Entrepreneur Of The Year is the world’s most prestigious business award for entrepreneurs.* The unique award makes a difference through the way it encourages entrepreneurial activity among those with potential, and recognizes the contribution of people who inspire others with their vision, leadership and achievement. As the first and only truly global award of its kind, EY Entrepreneur Of The Year™ celebrates those who are building and leading successful, growing and dynamic businesses, recognizing them through regional, national and global awards programs in more than 145 cities in 60 countries.

About EY

EY is a global leader in its Assurance, Tax, Transaction and Advisory services. Our insights and the quality services we deliver help to build trust and confidence in capital markets and in economies the world over. We develop outstanding leaders who team to deliver on our promises to all of our stakeholders. In doing so, we play a critical role in building a better working world for our people, for our clients and for our communities.

EY refers to the global organization and may also denote one or more of the member firms of EY Global Limited, each of which is a separate legal entity. EY Global Limited, a UK company, which is limited by guarantees, does not provide services to clients. For more information on our organization, please visit

This news release has been issued by EYGM Limited, a member firm of the global EY organization. It also does not provide services to clients.