The better the question. The better the answer. The better the world works. У вас есть вопрос? У нас есть ответ. Решая сложные задачи бизнеса, мы улучшаем мир. У вас є запитання? У нас є відповідь. Вирішуючи складні завдання бізнесу, ми змінюємо світ на краще. Meilleure la question, meilleure la réponse. Pour un monde meilleur. 問題越好。答案越好。商業世界越美好。 问题越好。答案越好。商业世界越美好。

Could a celebration of your company's achievements unlock the next phase of its growth?

Hotjar’s David Darmanin is EY’s Malta Entrepreneur of the Year™ Ben Remfrey wins EY’s Rising Star Award

David Darmanin, the founder and CEO of Hotjar, a business which helps website owners understand user behaviour and optimise conversions, has won the third edition of EY’s Malta Entrepreneur of the Year™ award. This June, he will travel to Monaco to represent Malta and compete in EY's World Entrepreneur of the Year™ award together with business leaders from more than 60 countries. 

Ben Remfrey, Managing Director at Praedium Consulting Limited, specialists in training NGOs and Governments to clear mines following armed conflict, has won EY’s Rising Star award, sponsored by Melita Limited, and will also be attending the Monaco event in June.

In 2019, for the first time, an additional Lifetime Achievement Award was also presented. This year’s recipient is Carmelo Debono, who since the 1960s has built Maypole, to become one of Malta’s leading baked goods brand.

Ronald Attard, EY Malta’s Managing Partner said, "EY’s Malta Entrepreneur of the Year™ award has once again attracted exceptionally strong nominations. Although website analytics tools, mine clearance and food manufacturing and retail are clearly completely different sectors, all our winners have demonstrated an outstanding ability to build very successful organisations through determination, a clear vision, and a willingness to adapt and innovate. For anyone who has Malta’s economic wellbeing at heart to see such entrepreneurship across generations and sectors is extremely encouraging.I would also like to thank Melita for sponsoring the Rising Star Award and Corinthia Group for sponsoring the awards ceremony."

EY has been holding the Entrepreneur of the Year™ awards on a global basis for three decades. Now spread to more than 60 countries, they have created a global network of 50,000 entrepreneurs and are the global benchmark for capturing today’s and tomorrow’s entrepreneurial spirit. Over half of today’s top 100 NASDAQ companies have won EY’s Entrepreneur of the Year award, and most received the award before they achieved top 100 status.

Highlights from last year’s awards

Highlights from the 2018 World Entrepreneur of the Year Award event


Highlights from the 2018 Malta Entrepreneur of the Year Award event

Past winners





EY Entrepreneur of the Year Malta


EY Entrepreneur of the Year 2019 Malta winner - Mr David Darmanin

Mr David Darmanin
CEO, Hotjar Ltd.


EY Entrepreneur of the Year 2018 Malta winner - Mr Angelo Xuereb

Mr Angelo Xuereb
Chairman, AX Holdings Ltd.


EY Entrepreneur of the Year 2017 Malta winner - Mr Alfred Pisani

Mr Alfred Pisani
Chairman, Corinthia Group

EY Rising Star


EY Rising Star 2019 Malta winner - Mr Ben Remfrey

Mr Ben Remfrey
Managing Director, Praedium Consulting Malta Ltd.


EY Rising Star 2018 Malta winner - Mr Shane Hunter

Mr Shane Hunter
Technical Director, AquaBioTech Group


EY Rising Star 2017 Malta winner - Mr David Vella

Mr David Vella
Co-founder and CEO, Altaro Software


Hall of Fame

Find out who belongs to this global elite group, the World Entrepreneur of the Year

2018 - Rubens Menin, MRV Engenharia e Participações S.A., Brazil

2017 - Murad Al-Katib, AGT Food and Ingredients Inc., Canada

2016 - Manny Stul, Just Energy Group

2015 - Mohed Altrad, Altrad, France

2014 - Uday Kotak, Kotak Mahindra Bank, India

2013 - Hamdi Ulukaya, Chobani, Inc., United States

2012 - James Mwangi, Kenya's Equity Bank Limited, Kenya

2011 - Olivia Lum, Hyflux Limited, Singapore

2010 - Michael Spencer, ICAP plc, United Kingdom

2009 - Cho Tak Wong, Fuyao Glass Industry Group, China

2008 - Dr. Jean-Paul Clozel, Actelion Pharmaceuticals Ltd, Switzerland

2007 - Guy Laliberté, Cirque du Soleil, Canada

2006 - Bill Lynch, Imperial Holdings, South Africa

2005 - Wayne Huizenga, Huizenga Holdings Inc., United States

2004 - Tony Tan Caktiong, Jollibee Foods Corporation, Philippines

2003 - Narayana Murthy, Infosys Technologies Limited, India

2002 - Stefan Vilsmeier, BrainLAB AG, Germany


Do you have questions? Please don't hesitate to contact us.

Kevin Mallia
Partner, Malta Advisory Services
EOY Programme Leader

Glenn Cassar
Senior Manager, Advisory Services
EOY Programme Manager

Nadia Belkhir
Marketing Associate
EOY Nominations Coordinator

EY Office:
+356 21342134

Official programme sponsors:

EY - Official programme sponsors

EY - Official programme sponsors

Official programme partners:

EY - Official programme partners
EY - Official programme partners