Peter Stephenson of Able UK named EY Overall North & Midlands Entrepreneur Of The Year 2010

  • Share
Peter Stephenson, Able UK Limited

18 June 2010: Peter Stephenson, Executive Chairman of Able UK Limited, was last night named EY North & Midlands Overall Entrepreneur Of The Year 2010 at an awards dinner held in Manchester.

The judges described Peter as ‘a master entrepreneur’; an impressive finalist with a long and distinguished career. He was picked from among 15 business leaders who were all named regional winners [list below] at the event. All regional winners, from across the country, will now go on to compete at the UK finals in October this year.

Able UK is a pioneer in demolition and land remediation and a major force in the development of Port and Renewable Energy locations. Peter has embraced real challenges and has stayed ahead by taking calculated risks, being first, committing, and by combining a longterm vision and investment strategy with the ability to also capitalise on short term tactical opportunities. His personal application, innate business sense, penchant for practical innovation and his perseverance and endeavour have created a strong (£300mn + assets), financially sound, profitable and diversified Group with over 3,000 acres of Freehold Development Land.

"Entrepreneurs, like Peter, play a vital role in driving the UK’s economic recovery by creating wealth and employment," said Stuart Watson, EY’s Entrepreneur Of The Year Leader in the North & Midlands. “Their optimism, ability to spot opportunities and sheer hard work continues to drive positive change and inspire others.”

“Peter Stephenson has taken on projects and built businesses in specialist sectors where others would fear to tread. Peter is a master entrepreneur who has a broad range of skills and a long-term vision.  He has achieved success on a major scale and embodies the spirit of entrepreneurialism.”

Independent judging panel
The North & Midlands independent judging panel 2010 included: Vanda Murray OBE (Chairperson of the judges’ panel); Anthony Preston, Non Executive Director, Pets at Home; Catherine Richards, Investment Director, Inflexion; David Rasche, Chairman, SSP Holdings Limited; Dean Hoyle, Non Executive Chairman, The Card Factory; John Kirkland OBE, Chairman, Bowmer and Kirkland Group of Companies; Mark Abrahams, Chief Executive Officer, Fenner PLC; Mohsin Issa, Director, Euro Garages Ltd; Neale Graham, Joint CEO, 2ergo Group plc; and Richard Dale, Chief Finance Officer, Newcastle University.

Full list of EY North & Midlands Entrepreneur Of The Year 2010 regional winners:

Business Products and Services Entrepreneur Of The Year
Martin Jones, PH Jones Limited, based in Malpas, Cheshire

E-Commerce Entrepreneur Of The Year
Adam Hildreth, Crisp Thinking Group Limited, based in Leeds

Turnaround Entrepreneur Of The Year
Michael Fort, Synexus Clinical Research Limited, based in Chorley

Consumer Products and Services Entrepreneur Of The Year
Mike Lord, Minivator Group Ltd, Kingswinford, West Midlands

Emerging Entrepreneur Of The Year
Sara Davies, Crafter’s Companion Limited, based in Bishop Auckland, County Durham

Cleantech Entrepreneur Of The Year
Sean O’Connor, Clean Energy Capital PLC, based in Leeds

Manufacturing Entrepreneur Of The Year
Michael Oliver, Oliver Valves Ltd, based in Knutsford, Cheshire

Commercialisation of IP Entrepreneur Of The Year
Dr Michael Edelman, Nanoco Group plc, based in Manchester

Overall and Master Entrepreneur Of The Year
Peter Stephenson, Able UK Limited, based in Billingham

Science, Technology and Communications Entrepreneur Of The Year
Elfed Thomas, i3 Group, based in Newton-le-Willows, Merseyside

Innovation Entrepreneur Of The Year
Professor Malcolm Young, e-Therapeutics plc, based in Newcastle upon Tyne

Customer Service Entrepreneur Of The Year
Richard Tang, Zen Internet Limited, based in Rochdale

Social Entrepreneur Of The Year 
Martin Kinsella, P3, based in Ilkeston, Derbyshire

Retail Entrepreneur Of The Year
Tim Whitworth, Republic (Retail) Ltd, based in Leeds

Young Entrepreneur Of The Year
Oliver Cookson, CEND Limited t/a, based in Manchester

Special Award
Stuart Griffiths, Birmingham Hippodrome Theatre Trust Limited, based in Birmingham

 Back to the top