EY - EY Entrepreneur Of The Year

EY Entrepreneur Of The Year™

Mr. Le Phuoc Vu, chairman of Hoa Sen Group, 2014 EOY Overall winner in Vietnam

  • Share

On Tuesday, 7 October 2014, the winner of the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Vietnam 2014 Award was announced at the Award Gala Night at Melia Hotel, Hanoi. Mr. Le Phuoc Vu, chairman of the management board of Hoa Sen Group won the EY Entrepreneur of the Year 2014 award and will represent Vietnam at The EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year held in Monaco in June 2015.

Aligning with the Vietnam business day on 13 October, the  EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Award Gala is a very special and meaningful event for Vietnam business community to honor the spirit of entrepreneurship, innovation and bravery of the country's entrepreneurs in a fast-globalising and integrating world.

Being presided by Vietnam Chamber of Commerce and Industry and co-organized by EY Vietnam, the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year award program was first organized in Vietnam in 2011, and run for the second straight year in Viet Nam in 2014.

Speaking at the awards ceremony held here yesterday, Vu Tien Loc, chairman of the Viet Nam Chamber of Commerce and Industry (VCCI), said that in the context of globalisation and competition, Vietnamese businesses should strive to meet international standards in administration to maintain sustainable growth and increase business value. "This is one of the most prioritised orientations in the restructuring process in Viet Nam. The prize, co-organised by VCCI and EY Viet Nam, aims to encourage the entrepreneurs' spirit," Loc said.

The award is granted on the basis of six globally applied criteria: entrepreneur spirit, strategic visions, financial ability, innovation, impacts to community, international businesses scale and straightforwardness in terms of the economy, culture and society.

Truong Gia Binh, chairman of FPT Group's management board and chairman of the award's assessment board, said the criteria was scientific and clarified all factors and conditions in the current world situation.

Amongst 18 outstanding finalists, 5 entrepreneurs won the cups and only one entrepreneur won the highest prize will represent Vietnam to join the EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year Award which will be held on June 2015 in Monte Carlo, Monaco. Mr. Le Phuoc Vu, chairman of the management board of Hoa Sen Group is the winner. Four other entrepreneurs were included in the list of the top five: Phan Quoc Cong, general director of International Consumer Products Corporation (ICP); Huynh Quang Dau, chairman of An Giang Fruit-Vegetables & Foodstuff Join Stock Company (ANTESCO); Nguyen Trong Khang, chairman and general director of MK Technology Group; and Pham Thi Viet Nga, general director of Hau Giang Pharmaceutical Joint-Stock Company.

The prize is granted in 60 countries in the world. Viet Nam was the 11th country in Southeast Asia to set it up. The first ceremony in Viet Nam took place in 2011, when Doan Nguyen Duc, chairman of Hoang Anh Gia Lai Company won the award.