• Share

Celebrating entrepreneurs from all walks of life.

The EY Entrepreneur Of The Year™ 2015 UK winners have now been announced. Please call 020 7951 6331 should you have any questions. Follow us on twitter @EOY_UK.

Programme endorsers:

Benefits of participation

The Entrepreneur Of The Year awards support EY’s overall commitment to Entrepreneurship and are more than just a celebration of your achievements. Entering the awards will help you:

Reflect on your current strategy and set your vision for future growth

Enhance your personal and business profile through increased PR coverage

Network with an influential community of business leaders across a range of sectors and geographies - through our exclusive alumni club

Gain access to key insights, thought leadership and leading events for entrepreneurs

"Thank you for such an honour. I think I'll be pinching myself for a little while!"
Holly Tucker MBE, Notonthehighstreet.com, Consumer and Product Services - UK Winner 2014

A fantastic programme.

“EY’s Entrepreneur Of The Year programme is not only a celebration of entrepreneurship, but also builds networks which span the world. It’s not only about winning an award; it’s about growing networks, making contacts and leveraging knowledge. I look forward every year to playing my part in this fantastic EY programme”

Steve Varley
Chairman and Managing Partner UK&I

Entry Criteria


The business leader will run a social enterprise that trades for social and/or environmental purposes.

As with all businesses, the social enterprise competes to deliver goods and services but is distinctive because its social and/or environmental purpose is absolutely central to what it does.

The social enterprise is a viable trading organisation and needs to make a profit to be sustainable. It is not driven by the need to maximise profit for shareholders and owners. Its profits are reinvested in the business or are invested in the community to sustain and further their mission for positive change.

Importantly, it does not solely rely on income from grants, donations or other charitable sources.


The business leader should have the passion, vision and the drive to succeed. They should be a compelling leader who embodies entrepreneurial spirit and who isn't afraid to take risks to drive their business forward.

The business leader risks a significant personal financial stake in the business, either directly or via share options.

The business leader needs to be responsible for their company's success and will have been in post a minimum of two years as of 1 January 2016.

The business leader must be based or have their chief operations in the UK and be incorporated for two years as of 1 January 2016.

"A very inspiring night full of inspiring people!"
Maggie Alphonsi MBE, England Women’s Rugby World Cup winner & Guest of Honour at EOY UK Final, 2014

Key Dates


7 January - Open for entries


Deadline for entries extended to 20 March


Regional finalists announced


Regional Judges' Reception and Masterclass

11 May: Midlands

14 May: Scotland

19 May: North

21 May: London & South


Regional Awards Dinners: UK finalists announced

16 June: Midlands

18 June: London & South

23 June: North

25 June: Scotland


10 September - UK Judges reception and Masterclass


5 October - UK Award ceremony: UK overall winner announced

Frequently asked questions

Anyone who is associated with a successful entrepreneur can nominate a candidate. This includes spouses, employees, bankers, attorneys, public relations managers or entrepreneurs themselves.

Yes. The information on the application form will be used by EY (in connection with the administration of the award) and the independent national and regional panels of judges.

Judges at a regional and national level include former winners of Entrepreneur Of The Year, national and global business leaders, business investors and the leaders of social entrepreneurial organisations. The judges play an active role, offering advice and mentoring as well as judgement.

Each independent regional judging panel selects categories and award recipients based on the quality and quantity of the nominations received. Each independent panel of judges is allowed complete discretion in determining categories and award recipients.

The categories for the awards are dependent on the entries received, though some of the more common categories are listed below:

Emerging — an entrepreneur that is leading a business which has been running between two and seven years with a sustainable business model and the potential to scale or grow their business.

International — an entrepreneur who has developed business in international locations either by exporting or by establishing operations in multiple countries.

Private Equity backed — an entrepreneur who is leveraging private equity support to achieve their long term vision and maximise the growth of their business.

Social enterprise – an entrepreneur who trades for social and/or environmental purposes. As with all businesses, their social enterprise competes to deliver goods and services but they are distinctive because their social and/or environmental purpose is absolutely central to what they do.

The year's country winners from around the world gather in Monte Carlo, Monaco, to be inducted into the World Entrepreneur Of The Year Academy and to vie for the title of World Entrepreneur Of The Year. Today more than 50 countries worldwide are participating. The 2014 EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year awards will be held in June in Monte Carlo. Entrepreneur Of The Year is the only global business recognition program held on six continents in more than 50 countries and more than 140 cities around the world.

"A great evening. Look forward to keeping in touch with some of the finalists at future events."
Guy Mucklow, Postcode Anywhere, Midlands’ regional winner 2014