Brazil lifts its prohibition on air travel from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe

Local contact

EY Global

26 Jan 2022 PDF
Subject Tax Alert
Categories Immigration
Jurisdictions Brazil

The Brazilian Government has lifted its temporary ban on air travel from six African countries. Effective 20 January 2022, travelers departing from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe, and those who were present in any of these locations in the 14 days prior to their travel to Brazil, may now enter Brazil by air. The temporary entry ban was originally introduced in late November 2021, following the discovery of the omicron variant of COVID-19.

A Tax Alert prepared by EY's People Advisory Services group, and attached below, provides additional details.

Show resources