China Mainland resumes visa-free travel for nationals of Brunei and Singapore

Local contact

EY Global

25 Jul 2023 PDF
Subject Tax Alert
Categories Immigration
Jurisdictions China

Effective 26 July 2023, the Chinese authorities will reinstitute the 15-day visa free policy for nationals of Brunei and Singapore who hold ordinary passports and either enter China Mainland for business, tourism or family visits or transit via China Mainland. Prior to the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic, nationals of Brunei, Japan and Singapore were eligible to transit through China Mainland or enter China Mainland without a visa for 15 days or less for business, tourism or family visits. On 28 March 2020, China Mainland suspended this visa-free policy. Nationals of Brunei and Singapore nationals who obtained visas for the purposes of business, tourism, family visits or transit before 26 July 2023, or have an application in process, may use their visas to enter China Mainland.

A Tax Alert prepared by EY's People Advisory Services group, and attached below, provides additional details.

Show resources