EU announces new visa-free agreement between Kosovo and the EU

Local contact

EY Global

5 Jan 2024 PDF
Subject Tax Alert
Categories Immigration
Jurisdictions European Union

Effective 1 January 2024, nationals of Kosovo can enter any EU Member State (and EU nationals can enter Kosovo) without a visa and remain for up to 90 days in any 180-day period. Nationals of Kosovo who seek to enter the EU for more than 90 days will be required to obtain an appropriate visa prior to travel. Prior to the visa-free agreement between the EU and Kosovo, nationals of Kosovo could visit only 14 countries globally without a visa. The visa-free agreement between the EU and Kosovo is part of more extensive legislation that aims to enable visa-free travel to the EU for citizens of the six countries of the Western Balkans, and vice versa.

A Tax Alert prepared by EY's People Advisory Services group, and attached below, provides additional details.

Show resources