Finland closes four border crossing points with Russia

Local contact

EY Global

21 Nov 2023 PDF
Subject Tax Alert
Categories Immigration
Jurisdictions Finland

The Finnish Government has closed part of its eastern border in southeast Finland. The border crossing points in Vaalimaa, Nuijamaa, Imatra and Niirala are closed as of 18 November 2023 until 18 February 2024. Finland closed four of its border crossing points in response to the increase in undocumented asylum seekers entering from Russia. The Finnish Government and authorities will be monitoring this situation closely and take further action, amend, or cancel their decision based on the development surrounding the influx of asylum seekers. Individuals seeking to enter Finland from Russia must use other border crossing points such as Vartius, Kuusamo, Salla or Raja-Jooseppi. This decision applies to all individuals entering from Russia, including Finnish citizens and non-Russian citizens, and to the commercial traffic crossing the border.

A Tax Alert prepared by EY's People Advisory Services group, and attached below, provides additional details.

Show resources