Datuk Parmjit Singh

EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year™ Class of 2022, Malaysia
Datuk Parmjit Singh, CEO of Asia Pacific University of Technology & Innovation

Datuk Parmjit Singh has advanced and democratized IT education in Malaysia.

In the 1980s, Datuk Parmjit Singh watched as the IT sector began to grow, and with it the need for a technology-literate workforce. So, in 1993, he founded Malaysia’s first technology-focused institute to fill the nation’s talent gap. Today, Asia Pacific University of Technology & Innovation (APU) is the country’s leading educational enterprise.

Parmjit has been determined to ensure the success of APU and its students from the very beginning. Today, APU offers 100 programs to approximately 13,000 students — 7,000 domestic students and 6,000 internationals students from over 130 countries. Pre-university, bachelor’s, master’s and Ph.D. programs are tailored to student needs and delivered in person, online and through a hybrid model. With courses that are continuously aligned with the latest technological advances, APU consistently sees 100% of its graduates employed.

Parmjit’s innovative ideas and leadership have earned the company prestigious recognition, including the first Malaysian private institution to be certified to International Standardization Organization (ISO) standards; the Prime Minister’s Industry Excellence Award; the Malaysia Digital Economy Corporation Premier Digital Tech University status; and the first Malaysian university to achieve QS Five Star plus rating — among one of 19 in the world and No. 1 in Asia for multicultural learning experience. Parmjit also advises government agencies on policies and strategies in the areas of technology, human resource development, higher education and talent development.

“My journey has been to provide top-class education at a level that will remain affordable for the middle-income group,” he shares. “Contribution to society is the crux of what I’ve been doing for the last four decades.”

Back to the EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year™ Class of 2022